Estevan likely to have two new trustees on Cornerstone board

Trustees for the South East Cornerstone Public School Division have been declaring their intentions for the upcoming school board election.

Harold Laich, the representative for Subdivision 2, has also issued a statement noting he will not be seeking a return to the public division’s boardroom.

article continues below

Laich informed the media that he no longer resides in the Subdivision 2 region, which includes Arcola, Carlyle, Manor, Wawota, Maryfield and Parkland.

He said it didn’t feel right to try to represent an area in which he no longer lived or worked in. Laich has served on the board for the past 11 years, including one term as chairman.

Also, Estevan incumbents Shari Sutter and Jim Vermeersch have stated they will not be seeking re-election as Estevan representatives at the conclusion of their terms.

All the other trustees in the division have indicated they will seek re-approval from the public in the areas they currently represent, with the exception of Elwood White who represents electors on the western side of the sprawling school division.  A trustee for the past two terms, he said he was still undecided.

For Vermeersch, it may not be a goodbye to the board.

“I feel I can’t act as a representative for Estevan since I no longer live there. I know technically, I still could, but I feel it just wouldn’t be right. But I may seek the nomination for Harold’s seat seeing as how he is leaving and I now live in that area (Kenosee Lake) that he has represented.”

Sutter, who is completing her first term as an Estevan representative, said work-related duties in the community as well as on their Bienfait-area farm make it difficult to give the time it requires to represent the city fairly.

“Perhaps in another four years, I can, but right now I just don’t want to do half a job. It’s not fair to the board or to Cornerstone staffers,” Sutter said.

With nominations due to be filed by Oct. 7, there is currently one candidate who has filed for Estevan. Eric McCrimmon has filed a nomination form as a candidate for one of the two Estevan seats on the 10-member board.

Weyburn representatives Melanie Sorenson and Brandon Tichkowsky said they will be seeking a return to the Cornerstone boardroom from their electors, as will Jim Henderson in Subdivision 3, which includes Redvers, Carnduff and Carievale.

Kevin Keating will be looking for a return to the boardroom as well as a representative for the Bienfait, Lampman, Alameda and Oxbow area, which is Subdivision 4, while Carol Flynn, the veteran board member and vice-chairwoman, once again wishes to represent Subdivision 1 – Rocanville, Moosomin et al.

Current chairwoman, and also a veteran board member, Audrey Trombley is seeking re-election in Subdivision 5 as a representative for the Stoughton, Midale, Macoun and Fillmore schools.

The school board elections are held in concert with the municipal council elections. Election date is Nov. 9. 

© Copyright Carlyle Observer


NOTE: To post a comment you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Google+ You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Carlyle Observer welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

comments powered by Disqus