Rural municipality election results

A number of rural municipalities in the southeast corner of the province needed to have elections on Nov. 9.

In the RM of Reciprocity No. 32, Alan Arthur was re-elected as reeve, defeating Douglas McWhirter 116-18.

article continues below

Roy Annetts (Division 1) and Louis Gervais (Division 5) were acclaimed as councillors.

Two elections were needed in the RM of Moose Creek No. 33. In the race for reeve, Kelvin Luedtke received 91 votes to defeat incumbent reeve Howard Sloan by one. Kimberley Dietze was re-elected as the councillor for Division 3, defeating Tim Freitag 37-29.

Jeremy Nielsen (Division 1) and Jeff Humphries (Division 5) were acclaimed.

In the Rural Municipality of Browning No. 34, Richard Brokop defeated Katia Bigney 25-9, and was re-elected as the councillor for Division 1.           

Pius Loustel was acclaimed as reeve, along with councillors Derek Fichter (Division 3), Brian Fornwald (Division 5) and Stephanie Wourms (Division 6).

In the RM of Antler No. 61, Bernard Bauche was re-elected as the reeve, defeating Jocelyn Hainsworth 163-114, while David Hutton was re-elected as the councillor for Division 5 after beating Darren Sandgaard 34-24.

Acclaimed as councillors were Edmond Aime (Division 1), Thomas Bastable (Division 3) and Donald Revet (Division 7).

Two elections were also needed in the RM of Moose Creek No. 63. In Division 3, Rick Degeer received 26 votes, defeating incumbent Paul Delalleau, who received 17. In Division 5, Jack Wilson received 22 votes to be re-elected, defeating Jessica Shirley, who had seven.

Acclaimed were Kelly Brimner (reeve) and Donald Boutin (Division 1 councillor).

Perhaps the most interesting election was in the RM of Tecumseh No. 65. Incumbent Zandra Slater and challenger Dwight Shiels finished tied with 85 votes each. Slater won a tie-breaker when her name was drawn from a hat.

Acclaimed as councillors were Jerry Wilkes (Division 1), George Ingram (Division 3) and Richard Bowes (Division 5).

The RM of Maryfield No. 91 had three candidates in each of Divisions 1 and 5. In Division 1, Louis Hebert received 21 votes to edge challengers Chad Lawless (20) and Harold Friesen (five). In Division 5, Sheldon Clark received 10 votes to defeat Clinton Radke (five) and Bryce Olson (three).

Cameron Thompson was acclaimed as reeve and Tyler Van Eaton was re-elected as the councillor in Division 3.

Three elections were needed in the RM of Walpole No. 92. Blair Wilson defeated Brent Fry 117-35 to become the new reeve.

In Division 1, Garth Cuddington was re-elected after beating Neil Russell 20-4, and in Division 3, Robert Johnson edged incumbent Teresa Walker 15-14.

Sheldon Wilson was acclaimed as the new councillor in Division 2, and William Hollingshead was acclaimed in Division 5.

RMs that did not need an election were:

RM of Enniskillen No. 3: Trevor Walls (reeve), and Councillors Barry Fitzpatrick (Division 1), Ryan Nielsen (Division 3) and Rae Wright (Division 5).

RM of Storthoaks No. 31: Brian Chicoine (reeve), and Councillors Valbert Rekken (Division 1), Dell Real (Division 3) and Bernard Poirier (Division 5).

RM of Brock No. 64: Larry Gordon (reeve), and Councillors Lucas Hislop (Division 1), Darren Ipplito (Division 3) and Douglas Ilchuk (Division 5).

RM of Wawken No. 93: Dawn Cameron (reeve) and councillors Hector Lamontagne (Division 1) and Blaine Ehr (Division 5).

RM of Hazelwood No. 95: Reeve James Husband and Councillors Blaine Warner (Division 1), Gary Gorzo (Division 3) and Matthew Lohner (Division 5).  

© Copyright Carlyle Observer


NOTE: To post a comment you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Google+ You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Carlyle Observer welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

comments powered by Disqus