Saskatchewan providing more money to municipalities

The provincial government announced Wednesday the distribution of $70.3 million to municipal governments to help out with COVID-19 pandemic relief, as Saskatchewan’s portion of the federal Safe Restart Canada Plan.

Government Relations Minister Lori Carr announced that the money will begin to be distributed immediately to all compliant Saskatchewan municipalities

article continues below

“As Saskatchewan returns to a new normal, this is another important investment to help municipalities and their residents weather the storm,” Carr said. “This funding will support efforts to protect health and safety, prepare for potential future waves of COVID-19, and facilitate the safe re-opening of economies.”

Of the amount, $62.26 million will be granted in general municipal support on a per capita basis, while $8.07 million will be allocated to municipal public transit support for the four cities with transit systems, based on ridership.

“Quickly and efficiently, the amounts will start to be distributed immediately so municipal leaders can funnel dollars to areas of highest local priority,” the release said.

The ministry will be contacting all municipalities directly with details about their specific allocation. The list, which runs 17 pages, shows the top allocations are to Saskatoon ($19 million), Regina ($16.3 million), Prince Albert ($2.3 million) and Moose Jaw ($2.2 million) (numbers rounded off).

The four larger centres are receiving transit allocations, based on 34.86 cents per rider. Included in the above numbers, Saskatoon is getting $4.3 million, Regina is receiving $3.5 million, Moose Jaw is getting $161,000 and Prince Albert is getting $141,000.

Saskatchewan’s remaining cities’ allocations vary from $990,000 for Swift Current down to $272,000 for Melville.

Among 147 towns, Nipawin gets the largest allocation, at $263,000, while Scott has the smallest, at $4,355. Only three towns will receive less than $10,000.

The 250 villages will receive between $59,292 for Caronport (pop. 994) and $1,193 for Wood Mountain (pop. 20).

The 41 resort villages vary between Candle Lake (pop. 840), which is allocated $50,109, and Greig (pop. 10), which gets $597.

There are 296 rural municipalities, and their allocations vary from $511,000 for the RM of Corman Park (pop. 8,568) to $4,295 for the RM of Glen McPherson (pop. 72).

Northern towns, villages and hamlets will see allocations ranging from $168,642 for La Loche to $1,790 for Dore Lake (pop. 30).

This federal funding was matched by $150 million dollars announced previously from the Government of Saskatchewan in the Municipal Economic Enhancement Program.

The release noted this summer, the province “fast-tracked a record breaking $278 million in municipal revenue sharing. Annual, no-strings attached funding was paid directly to municipalities to support local priorities and recovery efforts.”

© Copyright Carlyle Observer


NOTE: To post a comment you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Google+ You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Carlyle Observer welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

comments powered by Disqus