Carlyle Minor Hockey awards wrap up season

            Carlyle Minor Hockey had a successful year, which coalesced with an awards night on Thursday, March 29.

            “We have a very strong hockey program here in Carlyle,” Brian Hagel, emcee and past president of Carlyle Minor Hockey, explained. “I have been honoured to be a part of it over the past few years.”

article continues below

            “We had over 120 registered players, which is an increase of 12 percent from last year.”

            This included two initiation teams, two novice teams, an atom team, bantam team, and midget team; as well as the rink being home to the Estevan Female Bear Cats.

            “We’re looking at a female team in the bantam and midget categories as an option for girls in the area, so we should see something develop soon for that.”

            Hagel also took the time to thank all of their sponsors, the Carlyle Figure Skating Club, the Carlyle PureChem Cougars, the Sports Arena Board, Brent Stillwell, coaches, assistant coaches, managers, team volunteers, parents, players, and referees.

            The referees in particular were thanked, as without them the game couldn’t be played.

            “It’s not an easy job, but you all did an exceptional job,” Hagel added. “Carlyle Minor Hockey has made a commitment to referee development and you’ve all done a great job keeping the game fair, honest, and safe.”

            Throughout the evening each of the younger participants received awards, which coaches individualized when calling them up.

            Carlyle Peewee Hockey awarded Samantha Colpitts the Norman Moore Memorial Trophy (Most Sportsmanlike); Max Waugh received the Allen Smith Memorial Trophy (Most Improved); Tyrell Dixon and Mason Barta earned the Terry Kraemer Memorial Trophy (Most Dedicated); Top Defence was shared by Caden Piper and Turner Knockaert; Chase Robertson received the Top Offence award; and finally the team’s goalie, Ty Fehrenbach, received the MVP trophy.

The Carlyle Midget award winners were Darren Chapman and Tyler Colpitts with the Most Improved trophy; Preston Carriere with Most Dedicated; Dellan Robertson with the Most Sportsmanlike trophy; Trevor Stewart with the Top Offensive player award; Mykel Biermann with the Top Defensive player award; and the team’s captain, Ethan Anderson, earned the MVP award.

 The Carlyle/Lampman Bantam team awards went to Top Defenceman – Nathen Simons; Most Sportsmanlike – Cooper Humphries; Most Improved – Easton Burner; Most Dedicated – Derek Weinrauch; Top Offensive player – Hayden McArthur; and MVP – Spencer Sauter.

In addition to the awards given out by teams, one team also presented a donation to the Carlyle and area KidSport. The Carlyle Peewees had a very successful season through various fundraisers and their efforts have ensured more youth can be involved in sports as they donated $500 to the local KidSport chapter, which was accepted by Nicole Currie.

© Copyright Carlyle Observer


NOTE: To post a comment you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Google+ You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Carlyle Observer welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

comments powered by Disqus